Tools & Workshop — Magnet fishing kits
Magnetar Beast X Kit review: 3,100 lb across four magnetic faces
The Magnetar Beast X Kit pairs a 360-degree cylinder magnet rated at 3,100 pounds total with a protective cover, rope, gloves and MagShield carry bag.
PickBadger has a paid business relationship with Magnetar and earns a commission on purchases made through this page. How this works.
Short verdict
Source-only assessment No score is published because PickBadger has not handled this product. The summary below interprets only the manufacturer’s published specifications, labels and terms.
At $224.99, the official page specifies a 360-degree Beast X magnet rated at 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb total, an 80 × 30 mm body and a complete accessory set. It does not publish the magnet's coating, weight, rope size or test method, and its per-face pound figure is inconsistent between sections.
What works
- 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb total pull is published across four magnetic directions
- 80 × 30 mm magnet body, with 80 × 77 mm dimensions including the eye bolt
- Kit includes protective cover, rope, carabiner, gloves and MagShield carry bag
- Magnet arrives assembled and glued, according to Magnetar
What doesn’t
- Coating material and thickness are not published on the product page
- Product weight and rope length or diameter are not published
- Summary pairs 350 kg with 350 lb, while the body converts each face to 775 lb
- Magnetar does not publish the pull-test method or surface conditions on this page
Specifications
| Magnet type | Cylinder 360, X-line |
|---|---|
| Magnetic coverage | 360 degrees, four magnetic directions |
| Total pull force | 1,400 kg / 3,100 lb |
| Per-face pull force | 4 × 350 kg / 775 lb in description; summary conflicts at 350 lb |
| Magnet dimensions | 80 × 30 mm / 3 × 1.2 in |
| Dimensions with eye bolt | 80 × 77 mm / 3 × 2.9 in |
| Attraction range | 17 cm / 6.7 in for each magnetic surface |
| Coating | TODO: verify |
| Protective cover | Stainless steel |
| Assembly | Pre-assembled and glued |
| Included contents | Beast X magnet, protective cover, rope, stainless steel carabiner, waterproof gloves, MagShield bag |
| Rope dimensions | TODO: verify |
| Magnet weight | TODO: verify |
| Magnet material | TODO: verify |
Source: Magnetar Beast X Kit official product page, retrieved . View the source. Figures are the manufacturer’s own published claims, not PickBadger measurements.
Buy it if
You want Magnetar’s compact X-line 360-degree format as a ready-assembled kit, and the published 1,400 kg total rating and 80 × 30 mm body match the size of magnet you intend to buy.
Skip it if
You need a documented coating, product weight, rope specification or pull-test method. The official page leaves each of those fields unstated, and it contains a per-face conversion conflict.
Reading the 3,100 lb rating correctly
Magnetar describes the Beast X as a cylinder magnet with magnetic attraction in four directions. Its headline 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb figure is the total of those directions, not a stated single-face pull. The detailed description breaks that total into four ratings of 350 kg or 775 lb.
The product-information summary contains a material inconsistency. It prints “4 × 350 kg / 350 lb,” pairing the same number with two different units. The longer description instead gives 350 kg or 775 lb for each direction, which also adds back to the published 3,100 lb total. This review uses the detailed 775 lb figure while preserving the conflicting summary in the specifications.
These remain Magnetar’s published ratings. The page does not state the test method, contact material, contact area, coating condition or any other test condition. No independent pull test has been performed for this review, so the headline cannot be converted into a real-object lifting promise.
Dimensions and magnetic reach
The magnet body is listed at 80 × 30 mm, also written as 3 × 1.2 inches. With the eye bolt installed, the stated envelope becomes 80 × 77 mm or 3 × 2.9 inches. That second figure is the more useful one for storage because it includes the attachment point rather than only the cylinder.
Magnetar gives each magnetic surface a 17 cm or 6.7-inch attraction range. It also calls the catch range 360 degrees, meaning the product is intended to attract around the cylinder instead of only at its base. The page does not publish the method behind the 17 cm figure, so it should remain a listed manufacturer specification rather than an expected distance for every target.
Weight is missing. Magnetar calls this X-line design lighter and describes its throwing weight as balanced, but supplies no mass in grams, kilograms, ounces or pounds. Those phrases cannot be turned into a comparison number.
What is included for $224.99
The purchase is a kit rather than a bare magnet. Magnetar lists the Beast X magnet, a stainless steel protective cover, a strong rope with stainless steel carabiner, waterproof gloves and a carry bag with MagShield material. The page says the magnet is fully assembled and glued, so no initial assembly is listed as necessary.
The MagShield bag is described as reducing the magnetic field during transport and storage. No reduction percentage, measured distance or testing standard is published, so this review records the feature without quantifying it.
Several practical accessory figures are absent. The page does not give the rope’s length, diameter, material or rated load. It also does not state glove size choices or dimensions for the carry bag. A complete contents list is not the same as a complete accessory specification.
Cover, coating and missing material data
The stainless steel item named on the page is a protective cover. That does not identify the coating on the magnet itself. Magnetar publishes no coating material, layer stack or thickness for the Beast X on this listing, so the coating field is marked TODO: verify.
The page also does not name the magnet material in its specification text. Rather than import a material from another model, the table leaves that field for verification. The same applies to magnet weight and rope dimensions.
This separation matters because cover, coating and magnet material describe three different parts of the construction. Only the cover is identified here, and only as stainless steel.
Questions
Is 3,100 lb the pull force on one face? +–
Magnetar presents 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb as the total pull across four magnetic directions, then gives 350 kg or 775 lb for each direction in the description. Those figures are manufacturer ratings, not measurements made for this review. The page does not publish its pull-test method, contact surface or test conditions.
Why do two per-face pound figures appear on the page? +–
The product-information summary prints "4 × 350 kg / 350 lb," but 350 kg is not 350 lb. Farther down, Magnetar states "4 × 350 kg / 775 lb," which aligns with its 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb total. This review preserves the contradiction and uses the detailed section's 775 lb per-face figure.
What comes in the Beast X Kit? +–
The listed package contains the Beast X 360-degree magnet, a stainless steel protective cover, a strong rope with stainless steel carabiner, waterproof gloves and a carry bag with MagShield material. Magnetar says the magnet arrives fully assembled and glued. The page does not state the rope's length, diameter or rated load.
How large is the Beast X magnet? +–
The magnet body is listed at 80 × 30 mm, or 3 × 1.2 inches. With its eye bolt fitted, Magnetar gives 80 × 77 mm, or 3 × 2.9 inches. Each magnetic surface has a stated attraction range of 17 cm or 6.7 inches, although no test conditions accompany that figure.
What coating does the Beast X use? +–
Magnetar includes a stainless steel protective cover, but a removable cover is not the same specification as the magnet's own coating. The official product page does not identify a coating material, layer structure or thickness. That field remains TODO: verify rather than borrowing a coating specification from another Magnetar model.
The bottom line
The Beast X Kit has a clear price, form and contents: $224.99 for an assembled four-direction magnet with a 1,400 kg or 3,100 lb total manufacturer rating, an 80 × 30 mm body, protective cover, rope, gloves and MagShield bag. The official page is weaker on construction and test detail. Coating, magnet material, weight, rope dimensions and pull-test conditions remain unpublished, while the summary’s 350 lb per-face figure conflicts with the detailed 775 lb figure.
More from Tools & Workshop
Diesel Laptops Universal Truck Diagnostic Kit review: hardware, coverage and renewals
The Diesel Laptops Universal Truck Diagnostic Kit combines a 10-inch Flytech tablet, wireless Nexiq adapter and 12 months of Diesel…
KINGBOLEN K8 Pro review: an 8-inch scan tool with lifetime updates
The KINGBOLEN K8 Pro lists an 8-inch Android tablet, Bluetooth VCI, CAN FD, DoIP, full-system diagnostics and lifetime software updates…
AIYIMA A07 Premium review: 300 W per channel at a stated 10% THD+N
The AIYIMA A07 Premium is a compact RCA power amplifier rated at 300 watts per channel into 4 ohms, but…